SCA Membership Meeting 3/13/18

The Sewanee Civic Association will meet on Tuesday, March 13, at the EQB Center. Social time begins at 5:30 p.m., followed by a brief business meeting at 6 p.m., during which we will accept nominations for the 2018 Community Service Award, and present the slate for the 2018-19 Board of Directors and the 2018-19 budget for approval (Community Service Award presentation, Board of Directors vote, and budget approval vote will all take place at the final meeting of the year, on 4/18/18). Following will be a presentation on the mission and activities of the Blue Monarch.

Posted in Community Service Award, Meeting, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

2018-19 Board of Directors Nominations

The SCA invites nominations for open positions on the 2018-19 Board of Directors. Experience working in fundraising or nonprofits is a plus, but any adult who resides in the area and shares concerns of the community is welcome. Nominations are due by Friday, March 9. The slate will be presented at the March 13 meeting. Voting will occur at the annual membership meeting on April 18. Join us!

Posted in Meeting, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

SCA Seeks Community Service Nominations

The Sewanee Civic Association invites nominations for the 35th annual Community Service Award. The award recognizes the person or organization that has made outstanding contributions to the community. The kind of contribution varies widely, but the recipient is one who has helped make Sewanee a better place and improved the quality of life for everyone in the area.
Nominations are due by Friday, March 16.
Past recipients are not eligible to receive the award again. Send the name of your nominee, along with a brief paragraph of why you are nominating this person and/or group, to sewaneecommu​ Nominations can also be mailed to the Sewanee Civic Association, P.O. Box 222, Sewanee, TN 37375.
The award will be presented at the SCA’s April 18 annual membership meeting.
Past recipients include Kat O’Donohue; Mickey Suarez; GSA Allies; Pixie Dozier; Barbara Schlichting; Helen Bailey; Sewanee Youth Soccer; Dr. Matt Petrilla; Harry and Jean Yeatman; Marshall Hawkins; Karen Keele; Tom Watson; Susan Binkley and the Blue Monarch; the Sewanee Senior Center Food Pantry (Lena McBee, Sue Hawkins, Charlsie Green); George and Ruth Ramseur; Dr. John Gessel; Dora Turner; the Community Action Committee; Geraldine Hewitt Piccard; Myrtis Keppler; Connie Warner; Ina May Myers; Pete Green; Duval and Boo Cravens; Housing Sewanee; Arthur Ben and Betty Nick Chitty; Harry and Millie Dodd; the Sisters of St. Mary’s; Martha Dugan; Emerald-Hodgson Hospital Auxiliary; David Green; Joe David McBee; Robert Lancaster; Maria Webb; Doug Cameron; Phoebe Bates; Marilyn Powell; and Louise Irwin.
Posted in Community Service Award, Meeting, Uncategorized | Leave a comment